Dymiotis, Phanos: The Soldier’s Blues View larger

Dymiotis: The Soldier's Blues

HMC 014


Phanos Dymiotis (1965-2007) 
The Soldier's Blues for clarinet, bassoon, trumpet, trombone, drum set, violin and double bass
Score and parts 
Published in collaboration with the Cyprus Ministry of Education and Culture 

Duration: 12΄ 
ISMN: 979-0-801168-02-3 
Pages: 56 score + 60 parts 

Score designing and editing: Yannis Samprovalakis 
Music copying: Neophytos I. Roussos 
Corrections: Maro Skordi, Yannis Tselikas 
Foreword: Phanos Dymiotis 
Graphic design: Antonis Kapiris 

More details



Composer Dymiotis, Phanos

More info



   I wrote The Soldier’s Blues between the summer of 2006 and the beginning of 2007 as a result of a commission from the Mid-Atlantic Symphony Orchestra. Since the piece was intended from the very outset as a companion to Stravinsky’s L’histoire du soldat (The Soldier’s Tale) and as the instrumentation is virtually identical, I decided to pay explicit homage to Stravinsky’s masterwork through small quotations from which a lot of the thematic material for my work germinates.

   The soldier of the title is of course not a flesh-and-blood soldier, but a shorthand reference to the Stravinsky piece, while by “blues” I mean the occasional use of the blues scales and harmonies. I did not set myself the task of writing a true blues piece but rather to explore the resonances of the genre. Also, for the first time in my music I have used a drum set to imbue the piece with the feel of some types of American popular music.

   Movements I and III use the full complement of instruments, while II is essentially a cadenza for solo violin where the bluesy dimension is most sharply present.



March 22, 2007
Prince Theater, Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Members of the Mid-Atlantic Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Julien Benishou


13 other products in the same category: