Baltas: Little Suite View larger

Baltas: Little Suite

HMC 015


Alkis Baltas (b. 1948) 
Little Suite 
for woodwind quintet (1970) 
(flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, bassoon) 
Score and parts 
Duration: 7’ 
ISMN: 979-0-801168-03-0 
Pages: 11 score + 15 parts 

Score designing and editing: Yannis Tselikas 
Foreword: Alkis Baltas 
English translation: Helena Grigorea 
Graphic design: Antonis Kapiris 

More details



Composer Baltas, Alkis

More info



   In the summer 1970 I participated as a violist, on a scholarship of the “Jeunesses Musicales de Grèce” in the “Jeunesses Musicales World Orchestra” at a musical camp in Canada. My colleagues, young musicians of the orchestra, encouraged me to write a work for woodwind quintet with Greek colour. Thus was born the Little Suite, which was premiered that summer at an afternoon concert by musicians of the orchestra.
   The five short movements of this work are differentiated on the basis of tempo and character. The themes used are of my own inspiration, with the exception of the last movement, which is based on the melody of a traditional Cypriot dance (Syrtos).

Translated by Helena Grigorea


13 other products in the same category: