Symphony no. 2, Op. 58 (1997) View larger

Online only

Sicilianos: Symphony no. 2, Op. 58

HMC 001r


Yorgo Sicilianos (1920-2005) 
Symphony no. 2, Op. 58 (1997) 
Orchestral parts available on hire 
Published in collaboration with Megaron, the Athens Concert Hall 
Instrumentation: 3 (3.=Picc.), 2, 3 (3.=Bass Cl.), 2 – 4, 3, 3, 1 – Timp., 3 Perc. – Strings 
Duration: 30’ 
ISMN: Μ-9016000-0-3 
Pages: 92 

Score editing: Yannis Samprovalakis 
Score designing: Nikos Poulakis – Yannis Samprovalakis 
English translation: Helena Grigorea 
Graphic design: Antonis Kapiris 

More details


Composer Sicilianos, Yorgo

More info

Composer’s note

   Symphony no. 2 is an attempt to record personal musical experiences and emotional states.
   The first of the four movements, Allegro deciso, follows the pattern ‘Thesis – Antithesis – Synthesis / Thesis II – Antithesis II – Conclusion’, and, though reminiscent of traditional musical forms, could not be identified with them for two reasons: firstly because it divides this movement into two equal parts instead of three, and secondly because it is not based upon repeated melodic themes, but on music cells that focus on the minor sixth interval and recur altered to a greater or lesser extent, in a different expressive climate each time.
   The brief Intermezzo, like the Adagio that follows, is written in a free form, the musical material of both being interwoven with melodic elements already heard in this work or derived from my earlier compositions, yet adapted to different conditions of musical expression and elaborated with an appropriate technique.
The Finale, on the other hand, also based upon music cells, partly follows the same pattern as the opening movement: ‘Thesis – Antithesis’ alternate to give the impression of a brisk and often expressively charged Rondo.
   Commissioned by the Athens Concert Hall Organisation, this work was completed in Athens, in the spring of 1997, and is gratefully dedicated to the memory of Dimitri Mitropoulos.


February 15, 2000
Athens Concert Hall (Megaron) – Friends of Music Hall
Berlin Symphony Orchestra [now Konzerthausorchester]
Conductor: Ralf Weikert


3 other products in the same category: